Board of Governors

Menno Simons College operates as a college of Canadian Mennonite University (CMU). The governance of CMU consists of two bodies, the CMU Council and the Board of Governors.

The CMU Council is a constituency assembly charged with forging the vision of the university, and electing a strong governing board. It is made up of 45-60 people representing three supporting constituencies: i) Friends of Menno Simons College, ii) Mennonite Brethren Church of Manitoba, and iii) Mennonite Church Canada, as well as selected fraternal organizations. The CMU Council meets once or twice a year.

The Board of Governors meets regularly as the governing board. Most members of the Board of Governors are elected from the CMU Council, with additional members appointed by faculty, students, and supporting constituencies. The board also includes one faculty and student representative from both Menno Simons College (MSC) and the Shaftesbury campus. The board also has the option to invite two members-at-large to join and participate.


Board of Governors – 2020/21

  • Gordon Daman (Chair), Niverville, MB
  • Hans Werner (Finance Chair), Winnipeg, MB
  • Geoff Wichert (Secretary), Toronto, ON
  • Heather Block, Winnipeg, MB
  • Loren Braul, Altona, MB
  • Ben Dueck, Niverville, MB
  • Christine Ens, Winnipeg, MB
  • Cathryn Heslep, Edmonton, AB
  • Les Klassen Hamm, Saskatoon, SK
  • Viola Labun, Winnipeg, MB
  • John Reimer-Epp, Winnipeg, MB
  • Tamara Roehr, Winnipeg, MB
  • Dylan Tarnowsky, Kitchener, ON
  • Art DeFehr, Winnipeg, MB (emeriti board member)

Elected by Students:

  • Shaftesbury campus – Levi Klassen
  • MSC campus – Sanjam Panag

Elected by Faculty:

  • Shaftesbury campus – David Balzer
  • MSC campus – Jobb Arnold

Council – 2020/21

  • Janet Bergen, Abbotsford, BC
  • Heather Block, Winnipeg, MB
  • Ruth Branson, Winnipeg, MB
  • Janelle Braun, Winnipeg, MB
  • Raya Cornelsen, Winnipeg, MB
  • Matt Derksen, Wymark, SK
  • Steve Dick, Winnipeg, MB
  • Heather Driedger, Prince Albert, SK
  • Rafael Duerksen, Winnipeg, MB
  • Harley Eagle, Courtenay, BC
  • Nicole Enns Fehr, Calgary, AB
  • Viola Enns Woelk, Winkler, MB
  • Edgar French, Winnipeg, MB
  • Leona Friesen, Winnipeg, MB
  • David Gibson, Killarney, MB
  • Bruce Guenther, Winnipeg, MB
  • Carl Heppner, Winnipeg, MB
  • Adrian Jacobs, Lac du Bonnet, MB
  • Marlene Janzen, Calgary, AB
  • Carolyn Klassen, Winnipeg, MB
  • Stephanie Martin White, Kitchener, ON
  • Kathy McPhail, Winnipeg, MB
  • Jonathan Muehling, Winnipeg, MB
  • Don Neufeld, Virgil, ON
  • Paul Neufeldt, Coaldale, AB
  • Fred Pauls, Winnipeg, MB
  • Jami Reimer, Winnipeg, MB
  • Heather Unger, Winnipeg, MB
  • Tim Wenger, Winnipeg, MB
  • Erin Wiebe, Winnipeg, MB
  • Mark Wiehler, Winnipeg, MB
  • Michael Wilson, Winnipeg, MB
  • MC Canada Staff Representative

Print This Page