Board of Governors

Menno Simons College operates as a college of Canadian Mennonite University (CMU). The governance of CMU consists of two bodies, the CMU Council and the Board of Governors.

The CMU Council is a constituency assembly charged with forging the vision of the university, and electing a strong governing board. It is made up of 45-60 people representing three supporting constituencies: i) Friends of Menno Simons College, ii) Mennonite Brethren Church of Manitoba, and iii) Mennonite Church Canada, as well as selected fraternal organizations. The CMU Council meets once or twice a year.

The Board of Governors meets regularly as the governing board. Most members of the Board of Governors are elected from the CMU Council, with additional members appointed by faculty, students, and supporting constituencies. The board also includes one faculty and student representative from both Menno Simons College (MSC) and the Shaftesbury Campus. The board also has the option to invite two members-at-large to join and participate.


CMU Board of Governors

Gordon Daman, Chairperson
John Reimer-Epp, Vice-Chairperson
Ron Malech, Finance Chairperson
Marlene Janzen, Secretary

John Derksen, MSC Faculty Representative
Paul Dyck, Shaftesbury Faculty Representative

Cassandra Szabo, MSC Student Representative
Micah Zerbe, Shaftesbury Student Representative

Art DeFehr
Leona Friesen
Karen Heidebrecht Thiessen
Sandy Koop Harder
Hans Kruger
Les Klassen Hamm
Hans Werner
Geoff Wichert
Caroline Wiebe

Printed from: